A new take on the Clean Eating Challenge!

Standard

Sooo, since pretty much 48 hours ago I have decided, (or feel compelled more accurately) to go vegan Day one yesterday was a great success!  I freshened up the produce selection in my fridge and the thing I most enjoyed was that while grocery shopping yesterday I only really shopped in a tiny portion of the grocery store – really produce and the health food section.

I have included pictures of my main meals from yesterday, obviously I had a few snacks in there as well, but I found that it was easier than I thought to plan a day based around vegan meals.  You have to sometimes think outside the food box a bit, but I was surprised at things that were vegan at the store and equally surprised by the things that weren’t.

For breakfast yesterday I had granola with coconut “yogurt” and fresh berries – SOOOO good.

Image

Lunch was homemade guacomole with ezekiel bread (perhaps not 100% vegan with the bread, but I’m getting there!)

Image

Dinner was a giant spinach salad with tomatoes, yellow bell peppers, onion, bean sprouts & walnuts with basalmic dressing.

Image

On another topic I switched my kids over to rice milk yesterday (from soy) and they loved it!  I’ll stick with almond milk for myself I think but I just coudn’t justify giving my kids soy products when I won’t eat them myself.  My 6 year old is a vegetarian,he has been for 2 years now, my little sweet animal activist <3.  My daughter isn’t, she eats salami occasionally, and my hubby is definitely a meat eater, although he totally supports me and my son with this.  I can’t see myself doing any kind of cooking/preparing of animal products, but I can’t make those choices for them, although I might gently nudge my daughter off the salami.  Honestly, it’s the only meat she eats and it isn’t exactly a healthy choice! LOL

My husband just smiles and says “my life is about to get way more complicated, isn’t it?”

LOL

About mindspiritbodyfitness

Hello and thank you for checking out my blog! I am a 30-something mom of 2 great & crazy kids & a lover of all things health & fitness! This blog started out as a sort of business website for myself, but over the last couple of months has become a written documentation of my own personal fitness journey (losing that last 15!), whether it's workout related, nutrition & my transition to being fully vegan, my ups and downs, some stuff about kids or family, basically whatever is on my mind at the time. Hopefully those of you reading can find something to relate to! My own personal fitness journey really began a few years ago when I decided to get serious about my health and lost over 50lbs. I was so inspired by what I went through I decided to become a personal trainer and help others take control of their own health and fitness!

3 responses »

  1. Hi there! Yea – I’m so happy to hear that you’ve decided to go vegan. I’ve been vegan for a year, and it’s been wonderful! I look and feel so much better eating this way. It was not an easy transition for me at first – I cheated a lot in the beginning. It got a lot easier with time, and now it’s a piece of cake. Anyway, I’m always happy to meet other vegans – even brand-spanking-new ones. More power to you!

  2. Transitioning to veganism gets easier over time! You’ll be surprised how soon stuff that now seems ‘outside the box’ is totally normal! Also, super cool that your kid is vegetarian!

Leave a comment